Some rare lucky days the game of life just has to make you sunnily smile. And I’m beaming Away.

An Unexpected Kick In The Kop.*

The times I've watched Crystal Palace play and lose
Has driven this once happy-go-lucky dude to booze,
I've sat and watched my wretched misbegotten club
Lose to lesser sides who've had the luck of Beelzebub.

I've watched this luckless team lose for far too long,
So often I've seen my dream go nightmarishly wrong,
The times my patience and belief have been sorely tried,
The countless days I've watched and slowly died inside...

Oh, in such tearstained woeful misery I've wallowed,
So many last-minute defeats I've retchedly swallowed,
And after all my prayers to Good God (or what-have-you,)
Today I do believe I've either lucked out or broken through.

For this Sunday mourning looking o'er Liverpool's ground
A moment of rare and precious satisfaction has been found,
To watch 60,000 Scousers** crying 'neath the wan Anfield sun-
I know I'm no religious man, but Lord above, I owe You one.
(Liverpool 0, Lucky Palace 1.)

*The Kop, part of the Anfield ground where the most fervent Liverpool fans cheer their team to victory. Usually.
** Scousers, term of endearment for the good folk lucky enough to reside in Liverpool.

'Sorry, Reds fans; today you'll never wail alone. I'll smile all I can, coz this never happens.'

'But dreaming's all I do,
If only they'd come true.'
Kylie Minogue (!?) 'I Should Be So Lucky.'
(And today all my hopes and far-fetched dreams came true!)

©Obbverse.

30 thoughts on “Some rare lucky days the game of life just has to make you sunnily smile. And I’m beaming Away.

  1. Scored a good goal, rode your luck a bit, but defended bravely. Liverpool had so many chances but they were either blocked or saved, or hit into Row Z. A deserved win, and I enjoyed watching the arrogant, entitled scumbags lose 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, luck-wise we won the jackpot, the trifecta and the church-needs-a-new-roof raffle today for sure. But our luck in previous games, especially coughing up goals in the last few minutes has been like we’ve been cursed. Its a relief to get a decent dollop of luck, and to do it against Liverpool- who were doomed to not score today, Klopp must have been melting down at the end- that is a bonus.

      Of course, the wise bobble heads on Sky thought Liverpool were unlucky too, but there were some inspired saves from both keepers.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I agree; love to see the hot steaming Red faces. The fact is in the Premiership every game is a banana skin for the Big Ego Six, and today one of them slipped up. Or two, if you look at the Arse being sat on their arse.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your team’s win (or it congrats on the other team’s loss?) You sports fanatics take the game to the next level serious. Last time I got like that was in 2004 NBA season watching The Pistons. I remember that season fondly and even named my pup after one of the players.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Being a fan is such a wild ride. Most of it is plummeting downhill out of control and hoping the inevitable crash landing won’t hurt too much.

      Taking a massive sidestep, what/who did you name your pup?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you won obbverse! What is that old saying? A broken clock is right twice a day. “Oh, in such tearstained woeful misery I’ve wallowed”…love that!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. A rare and plucky lucky surprise win but who cares, its three points gained and my face will be wreathed in a smile for the next coupla days. And the ‘woeful’ line comes from an all too familiar place!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thanks kindly Chel, the ol’ ‘comedy born from tragedy’ form of poetry. And I doubt many muscle-bound footballers of any code are given to reading poetry on their days off; it may just be a possibility, but that would be verging on implausibility.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I like to think I have compassion and understanding for all people, wherever they may live. But I tend to hold a grudge against the Toffees as well as Liverpool for some reason. OK, I can abide Tranmere Rovers if I really really have to.

      (Man U still giving every fearful fan conniptions every game as well. Fragility, thy name is Man U.)  

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I never knew ‘Glad All Over’ could be sung without the accompaniment of teardrops pattering off my cheeks. It sounds- I don’t know, it’s such a rare sound- it sounds? like? the sound? of… victory????

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Once in a blue moon, once in a lucky season, when the moon is in Aquarius it all falls your way. Don’t worry, knowing our team normal service and my bitching and moaning will resume shortly.

      Like

  4. My Palace-supportin’ missus was cock-a-hoop.
    I was slightly less than joyous, however, after West Ham were thumped at home by Fulham.
    Fantastic result for The Eagles.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Well, your wife will be brought down to earth and you’ll be smiling because we NEVER kick on after a lucky win. And you’ll be the one smiling after this weekend. Luck and lightning can’t strike twice.

      Nice to see both scouse teams losing though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment