Am I alone in hoping there could be a lone Ranger?

Dumb Truck.

Whenever I drive down to our local Mall, sadly
The car parks are chocka-block, row upon row,
And every second conveyance is parked badly,
So, slowly, 'round and 'round the carousel we go.

Away we go, eyes crawling past the serried ranks-
So many big double cab trucks, so few hatchbacks,
Slaloming from side to side of the tight lanes thanks
To trucks with rear-ends fitted with triple bike racks.

All the Mall car parks are of a reasonable size,
But unfortunately, not if your parking skills suck,
It's a rare trucker who'll win a 'best parker' prize
When trying to park Fords monster big-as truck.

Because 'round here the Ford Ranger is ubiquitous,
It's the most bought and desired vehicle of any sort,
A work truck being the top seller sounds ridiculous,
But that double cab truck is now fashionably sought.

From top Master Builders to Jack-offs of all trades
Every working man wants to be wheelin' a Ford Ranger,
But the fact they're also favoured by fair delicate maids
Makes its macho appeal to the masses even stranger.

With Rangers being big 'n' tall and double wide
One needs to park it with a surgeons precision,
But when two are parked on either side, woe betide
You should you reverse and don't have periscopic vision.

Now that the Ranger has become a fashion accessory
The petty pissy upper-class one-upmanship has begun,
Are Mag wheels, fog lamps, chrome bull bars necessary
'Specially for the rich bitch tart navigating the school run?

The Ranger has upstaged the fabled Range Rover,
Once the default choice of the wealthily endowed,
With its lofty cabin so one could sit and lord it over
The poor lost Souls and losers in their Cruzes crowd.*

It's rough enough when a Ranger hauling a trailer
Takes a foot of precious space off your parking slot,
I've been known to swear like a road-raging sailor
When trying to scrape into a park- turns out it's not.

So we curse it out and back out to crawl along again,
Past some Power Ranger who looks and sees just fine,
Parked outside his gym this muscle head with half a brain
Strides and whistles past the 'Disabled Parking Only' sign.

Then, amongst the range of cabs and gleaming decks
I spy a gap in the Rangers that, with Gods good grace-
If it isn't a trick of the light or my steamed-up specs-
May be an actual honest-to-God free parking space!

Turning 'round the corner we slow and brake,
I don't believe it but the evidence I can't refute,
I stare, rub my disbelieving eyes, do a double take
And hit the horn, knowing she won't give a hoot.

Hot Mama in her air-conditioned comfort won't take a hint,
She sits vaping, idling, adding to the massive carbon bubble,
Madam peers down her snooty nose through the window tint,
Parking 'tween the painted guidelines isn't worth her trouble.

* Kia Soul and Chevy Cruze. Cheap 'n' cheerful runabouts, nippy, small enough for the Mall, unless you have one truck of an ego.

'Why the Ford Ranger, a big unwieldy bloated behemoth of a truck remains NZ's best seller is a mystery to me. Maybe those who do buy them think having a big deck makes them special?

'Don't hate me 'cause I'm beautiful,
And just a little lazy,
Don't hate me 'cause I'm beautiful,
I'm just as God has made me.'
The Northern Pikes, 'Don't Hate Me.'

©Obbverse.


24 thoughts on “Am I alone in hoping there could be a lone Ranger?

  1. Ob, you must know that the size of the truck is inversely proportional to the size of the … for the men and is directly proportional to the size of the mouth for the women. The Ford Ranger used to be a teensy tiny truck that was just right and the F150, F250, etc. were the monsters. Sorry to hear Ranger has gone that way. Around here it’s monster trucks and Hummers and we know what it takes to earn yourself the gall to drive one of those gas hogs. Your poem made me laugh out loud multiple times.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Exactly right with the ‘bigger is best’ analogy. Now all Slim has to do is order it with loud exhaust so that everyone around can see and hear him throbbing away down the backroads. Oh yeah, order the paintwork to be ‘Studly Red’ too.

      Glad to have raised a giggle Lisa, thats what I go for.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Over here they are frikkin’ huge, maybe in the States they wouldn’t seem overlarge. We also have the Rams here, with their macho grills the size of some 50s Mack truck- they are even bigger bolder, and bad-asser when it comes to taking up more than their fair share of parking ground. Luckily they are rarer. Thing is, gas here is $2.86 a litre- yes, thats a litre, or roughly a quarter of a US gallon!?!? Why haul around a gas-guzzling hi-jacked up abomination like that? As Leonard Nimoy might say ‘Illogical.”

        Like

        1. That is high! Geez. We are paying around 2.90 a gallon…big big difference of course. Yea I agree…we have another “car” a 2000 Jeep Wrangler…they get a huge 15 miles to the gallon! That is the big reason we hardly ever drive it. We borrowed a Toyota Tundra a year or so ago…it was HUGE…I don’t see the attraction there. No I like small trucks.

          I’ve never got this to work before…but this below is the Ranger Lisa and I were thinking of.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yes, that’s more on the rational side size-wise. The other thing about these Rangers is it has a double cab and there is usually the guy behind the wheel drinking his Starbucks, playing on his phone, half an eye on the road; and that’s it.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. The great thing about being weedy is that I can still squeeze out of my car, even when it’s a few inches from a monster 4×4 parked right on the line. Mate, I’m in my space, so good luck getting in your truck.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m the same, but to be fair its my little narrow gutted Fiesta that makes me feel a lot more svelte than I am. These big ego boosting Macho-mobiles are all a bit pathetic in my eyes. If I was to update the sad little Ford I’d go for nothing bigger than a Fiat 500/Abarth. I’m not wanting to be seen like some kind of big hairy-assed lumberjack who needs to impress people with their mighty (in their eyes, if not reality) choppers.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Eloquent as always and I hear your plight! Around here it’s the F-150 and I just checked and it’s slightly bigger than the Ranger. A few years back one of them took a fair swath off the side of my comparatively small Buick in a parking lot. Aparently she didn’t see me.

    Like

  4. I was walking along a parking lot and saw a note on a windshield…the car was parked in two spaces…I lifted the note for words of wisdom “who taught you how to park?…Stevie Wonder?” I had to laugh.
    You made me laugh on this Friday…but when you are in that situation…it’s no laughing matter! They ARE huge!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great stuff Obbverse. Momo and me purchased a Honda Ridgeline Pickup Truck. And before ya’ll chastise me, it was because it is the only truck that the two of us crippled up Texans can get in and out of without a ladder. Tried the Ford, the GMC, The Chevy and the Dodge. Nothing fit and they cost as much as a house. The nippers build a good machine that will be running after I stop running, and we can pull an RV trailer behind it, if we can find someone to put it on the hitch, park it and sit it up for us. It’s hell gettin on in age. I get a lot of sorry looks from the boys driving the big trucks, but I don’t mind, my gun rack fits good in my Honda and I save enough on gas to buy food.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yep, we’ve had three Hondas, a coupla Civics and a wee City that cycled through the family from the daughters at Uni to my wife for a while. Ran beautifully. I had three Honda bikes, a piddly 125, a 305 Dream and a 400 /4 Sports. Bulletproof. So, car-wise I’d say ‘good call.’

      Like

      1. I had a Honda S 90 in high school. A huge step up from my Allstate Moped that topped out at 30 mph. This was before I got a car, then the bike went to cousins. A buddy of mine had a 305 Dream cycle, and man that was a beaut..Clark. Another friend rode a Yamaha 350 that he wrecked daily. About 8 years ago, I purchased a Honda 90 Trail bike in a garage sale. After dodging old ladies in Caddies for a few weeks, I sold it, before I was killed. Momo and me have had many Honda cars. My 2008 CRV is now in the capable hands of my granddaughter that lives in Tulsa, Ok.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I understand about giving up on the Honda 90 later in life’s journey. I’d love to ride again but seeing idiots driving in my lane while they’re texting or whatever is all too frightening. I appreciate bikes, but I don’t want to splatter my heart and soul and body parts into riding any more. 

          And what is it about Yamaha riders? My pal Jimmy was worse than Eval Knievel for constantly pounding his poor wailing Yammy into the ground or bouncing off the tarmac.

          Good the CRV’s still trucking along in Tulsa.

          Like

  6. Punchline – and the Ranger is still a SMALL Ford pickup compared to the F-series and similar Rams or Chevys. Maybe it’s worldwide – when I left Ontario, sedans still ruled and pickups were mostly (and oddly perhaps) driven by workmen, police for their family car and outlaw bikers. Here, about half of all vehicles are pickups and probably half of the remainder are big SUV. Probably same in Canada by now too. And as you suggest, the malls and Walmarts don’t think to repaint the parking lot lines so you have Honda Civic-sized spots for Avalanches and Tundras with over-sized tires. Like squeezing a 44 inch butt into a 34 pair of pants.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I see no logic at all to big bigger biggest, but that doesn’t stop the big-ass barges being sold. And yes, our Mall has just repainted the old lines. The only upside is that the new paint shows just how far over the crisp white lines those chunky Goodyears have strayed. Honestly if I wasn’t a good citizen I would key the worst parked of them in squeezing past them. But I am too nice and sweet a person to do that. However, I would like to have one of those sneaky James Bond hidden-knife-in-the shoe thingies. Give those Goodyears a good kick in passing…

      Like

  7. My first two trucks were Ford Rangers. The first one did not even have room for a fold down seat in back let alone an extended cab. I thought they were minimalist! I currently drive a Toyota Tacoma because the dealership is walking distance from my house. All the parking lots have mostly “compact only” spots while the majority of vehicles where I live seem to be oversized!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment